Welcome!

Standard

Hi everyone!

Welcome to my blog! My name is Andrea and I will be your host in the crazy roller coaster that is my life as a pre-med student.

So, let me tell you my story.

I never wanted to be a doctor. As a matter of fact, my father and I always joked that I would never be a doctor because I didn’t like math and I wasn’t good at science. I was never really interested in school; I was more concerned about imaginary characters that my friends and I could pretend to be in our childhood games. School just wasn’t for me; I would put as little effort as possible and concentrate on cartoons instead.

I moved to the US when I was twelve, almost thirteen. My parents decided to put me in a program with tutors to help me with my school work as well as speed up the process of learning English. It worked; my English wasn’t perfect, but I could understand the basics and hold a conversation. My grades also started improving since I could understand what my teachers were trying to teach me.

I graduated High School on June 5th, 2009 and I started college that Fall. I didn’t know what I wanted to do; I had taken a psychology class in High School and I loved it, so I took an intro course. That was the only class I really cared for.

Since I didn’t know what I wanted to do and I wanted to have a social life, my grades suffered. I had wanted to take a year off before starting college, but my parents didn’t let me. I’m grateful that they did that, because I know it would’ve been much harder to start if I had taken a break. However, it did have its consequences. I didn’t want to be at school, so I didn’t try hard enough. My GPA was really low; I was in warning for a few semesters. It also didn’t help that I was getting married in Spring 2010; my focus was on the wedding, not in my studies.

After I got married, my grades started getting better but not fast enough. I faced academic probation; one last semester before I would be suspended for a semester. Thankfully, the thought of not being able to return to school for a year was motivation enough to start trying. I was able to bring my grades up and get out of academic probation. It was around this time that I thought about going to medical school; I wanted to be able to prescribe medication to my patients, and I couldn’t do that as a psychologist.

I went to talk to the pre-med advisor, and I told her I  was thinking about it but wasn’t sure if it was for me. I had always been squeamish and I wasn’t very good at chemistry. She told me to take an intro class and see how I would do. I took the class and passed it with a B-, so I kept going. However, my GPA was still very low. Definitely too low for medical school, so when I went to talk to the advisor she told me to re-consider my career choices and talk to the psych advisor about going to grad school for psychology instead.

My spirit was crushed.

After a few short hours in despair, I pulled myself together and decided that I wouldn’t give up so easily. When someone tells me I can’t do something, it makes me want to try even harder. That’s exactly what I did; I worked harder than ever and started earning good grades. It was around this time that I took a Biopsycology course. At the end of the year, my professor took us to the psychology lab and we got to touch a human brain. I was a little nervous, but I put on my gloves and waited patiently in line.

It’s going to sound super cheesy, but it doesn’t make it any less true. I picked up the brain as gently as I could, and I felt like Harry Potter did when he picked up his wand for the first time. Angels were singing, light rays were shining from my hands, all those cheesy things that would describe that moment. It was the sudden realization that this is what I meant to do. THIS WAS MY CALLING.

This was about two years ago. It was then that I decided to become a serious pre-med student and seriously pursue medicine. I’ve been working hard ever since, and my grades have greatly improved. My GPA is not perfect, which will pose a problem when I apply, but I’m trying. I have a lot of extracurricular activities that I hope will show my dedication to this field.

It is scary knowing that my grades could more than likely cut my dream short, but that’s not reason to quit without trying. I’d rather fail giving it my all than fail because I didn’t try. I will keep earning as many A’s as I can, and I will never give up. I know I can be a great doctor, and it’s up to me to show medical school committees that my past grades do not define my future.

I’m at a point in my studies that, if all goes well, I will be taking the MCAT next May. This means I will be applying to medical school next June. I didn’t do well in my Physics class and Organic Chemistry class (C+ for both) last semester, so I will be retaking them at some point before the MCAT. It was really disheartening because I had been getting straight A’s, and I felt like I had ruined my chances to go to med school; my GPA couldn’t take any more hits, I could only get A’s or B+’s.  I’m not going to give up though; I’m going to keep trying and try to get A’s when I retake those classes.

I dunno what the future will hold, but I will do my best to keep going and work hard. Somehow, someday, I will be a great doctor. And if for some reason I don’t, at least I’ll know that I gave it my all and I never gave up. I hope you will all join me in this journey and maybe give me some inspiration to get going. 🙂 The best part of doing this is that you don’t go at it alone.

Thanks for reading and I hope you’ll enjoy this blog! It’ll give you some insight as to what it takes to be a pre-med student, and if you are one, maybe you’ll learn from my mistakes so you won’t make them.

Wish me luck!

Andrea.

6 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. I am looking forward to reading your future blogs as I am an aspiring physician as well but I still have about 2 years till I apply to medical school! Good luck with your journey 😀

  2. determinedpremed

    We are very similar in stories! It is so scary to think that grades are that factor that can cut your dreams short. I always say there are things that can help us improve. Even though I am getting exhausted of trying and trying, I know it will be worth it! We can do it!!

Leave a Reply

