Life Is a Rollercoaster

Standard

Hi everyone!

First of all, I’m terribly sorry for taking so long to write another post. I’ve been extremely sick for the past few weeks and the only thing I’ve been able to do is stay in bed and be miserable. I’m feeling slightly better after going to the doctor, so I hope I’ll be around more often.

School starts on the 25th! I’m not ready for summer to be over yet! I’ll be re-taking O-Chem as well as taking Intro to Neuroscience, Drugs and Behavior (psych class), and Statistics in Psychology. I’m not extremely worried about the neuro and psych classes; they come fairly easily to me, but I’m terrified of O-Chem. It’s not really that hard of a subject, it just requires a lot of time and practice, which I KNOW I didn’t do enough of the first time around, even though I dedicated around 4-5 hours daily to it. I guess it just takes me a little longer to understand concepts completely. I’m actually going against my advisor’s wishes and re-taking it; he told me it’s best not to re-take a class unless you absolutely have to (and you can get an A). I’m not sure if I can get an A, but I’m going to aim for an A-. I’m re-taking it from the same professor, so at least I know what to expect. I just have to come up with a better way to study the material.

As you all know, I want planning on taking the MCAT in May and applying to medical school in June of next year. Due to some unforeseen circumstances, I am pushing back my MCAT and medical school application. I have yet to speak to my advisor about it, but when I do, I will let you all know when I will be taking the MCAT. I still plan on graduating on Spring 2016, so I will probably be applying June 2016. If I get accepted, I’ll use the year before medical school to do some research and volunteer. I’m a little discouraged that I have to take even longer than I wanted to, but I’m also relieved; I’ll have more time to finish all my classes and study for the MCAT. At this time I’m afraid I can’t share the reason why I’m postponing it an extra year, but if you wait a few weeks you will find out. 🙂

It’s all about the journey. Sometimes we just have to take a step back and realize it’s okay to slow down. It doesn’t matter how long it takes me, I will get there one day.

Wish me luck!

Andrea.

7 thoughts on “Life Is a Rollercoaster

  1. This blog sounds fantastic. It’s the journey that really allows us to appreciate just how important we value the end product and in your case that’s becoming a doctor. Wishing you all the very best! I’ve spent a while on this journey myself and completely understand how hard and challenging it can be. The main thing is that you stick to it and adjust as your life sees fit. No one can deny you of what you want in life. It’s up to you to decide whether you want it bad enough. All the best!

  2. determinedpremed

    Amazing. I am retaking Orgo as well and I would dedicate so much to it but I guess it really is more practice. It isn’t even bad I just don’t get how we had the chance to do not as well. It doesn’t matter how long it takes you to get there, be relaxed and less stressed. If I were you, I would use the extra year in between applying to either retake bad classes, take extra classes, or simply do some cool volunteering or research thing! Our life is full of endless opportunities! Good luck to you next week !

Leave a Reply

