It’s A…!

Standard

Hi everyone!

First of all, Happy late Halloween! This isn’t really a pre-med post, but there’s a medicine-related subject some of you might find interesting.

On Friday my husband and I went in for our 20 week ultrasound. We were extremely surprised to find out we were having twins! The first thing that came out of my mouth was, “Oh my god, your mother was right!” My mother-in-law thought my belly was way too big to be a single baby, and what do you know, she was right!

The next surprise came next when we found out we were having boys! My husband got his wish and I was a little disappointed I wasn’t getting a little girl.

Then came the big news; our babies share an amniotic sac. We’re having monoamniotic twins. This happens in 1% of all twin pregnancies, so you can imagine how rare this is. You can learn more about this here. Monoamniotic twins occur when the fertilized egg splits after the amniotic sac has formed. I guess we were kinda lucky; had it split a few days later, we’d have conjoined twins.

Twins have a membrane that separates them, but since ours don’t, their umbilical cords can become entangled or one of the twins could compress the other’s cord. There’s also a chance of twin-to-twin transfusion syndrome; you can read about that here.

So our happy news turned into even happier news, only to end in extreme fear. Our babies are currently doing fine and are growing accordingly. However, because they need to be constantly monitored to make sure they aren’t running into trouble, I will have to be hospitalized until they are delivered. I go in for the next ultrasound in a month and that’s when we’ll determine when this will happen. We’re hoping to wait at least till mid-December so I’ll be able to finish the semester. If everything goes well, our babies will make it to the end of January/beginning of February.

What all this means is that I will have to take a break next semester and take classes during the summer instead. I’m really disappointed because I was truly looking forward to having a nice, easy third trimester while going to school and doing research. Life just doesn’t always work the way we want it to. That’s okay though, because my main concern is the health of my children. That still sounds so weird to me…

Anyway, I suppose you’ll be hearing a lot more from me once I’m stuck in the hospital. I’m going to try to take that time to research things I’m interested in and maybe go over all the O-Chem I learned last semester.

Wish me luck!

Andrea.

PS: This semester is going very well! I’m very happy with my progress!

3 thoughts on “It’s A…!

Leave a Reply

