Good News Everyone!

Standard

Hi everyone,

As you know I applied to four post-bacc programs. I told you on my last post that I had gotten accepted into one program and how I was worried about how things would work out. Thankfully, I had almost nothing to worry about! I got accepted to all four programs I applied to! I cannot begin to tell you how excited and proud of myself I am; I never thought this is where I would be a few month ago, and definitely didn’t think about this when I started this blog four years ago!

So after much deliberation, and by that I mean just waiting for my top choice to accept me, I will be attending Campbell University School of Osteopathic Medicine pursuing a Master of Science in Biomedical Sciences starting this Fall. The curriculum is a lot like first year medical school, so I’m incredibly excited and terrified! I’ve taken anatomy before, but never done the actual dissections! This will really help me once I’m in med school though, so I’ll figure it out. I can’t wait to make North Carolina our new home! Utah has been pretty good to us, but it’s time to leave! I’m sad to be leaving my friends and family, but I’m excited to get away from the snow! I have to be in North Carolina in exactly one month for orientation, so hopefully we can figure it all out by then. I still have to find housing!

The tricky part about this all is my husband’s work. He loves computers and has some experience coding. His job is letting him take their web development course so he can hone his skills and get a tech job through them. With everything he has to do and our limited timeline, I may have to move by myself until he’s done with the course and can transfer out there. We hope it won’t be too long, but I’m so excited and proud of him! This is basically his dream job and he has worked so hard for so long that he deserves to have a job he truly enjoys. Things are looking up for us!

We’re both on a path that will take us to where we want to be in life, and I’m so excited that we’ll be doing things we love while being able to provide a good life for our little boys, which are two now, by the way! Time flies when you’re having fun and working hard!

When I left Peru thirteen years ago, the ONE thing I KNEW I would NEVER be wasa doctor. My dad had drilled this into my head; I wasn’t good at math, so I could never be a doctor. I believed him and we joked about it all the time. And yet, here we are! Once I decided what I wanted to do, I worked hard and passed all my math classes; I even managed to get A’s in College Algebra and Trig. I kept going; I survived organic chemistry and physics, two of the hardest subjects I’ve taken so far. I was able to bring up my GPA enough to be a competitive applicant for post-bacc programs. Pinch me, because I must be dreaming! After a hospital stay, a difficult pregnancy, TWINS… I graduated, I brought up my GPA, I volunteered, I shadowed, I did research… and now I’m getting a Master’s?! How did I manage to do this? I honestly don’t know, but I did it! I’m one step closer to my goal!

I know sometimes we are our own worst enemies; I know I am! The thing is, it’s okay to have doubts. It’s okay to freak out a little and wonder how you’ll get through that difficult project. It’s okay to vent to your friends about how much you hate Physics (me!) Just keep pushing forward, it will all work out in the end! If you need to take a different path for a while or if it takes you longer than most, that’s okay! You WILL get there one day if you keep working on it.

I can’t wait to see what life has in store for us. I know the next few years are going to be difficult, but I can’t wait to experience grad school and get through all those classes! I’m so excited to learn! Hopefully I’ll have some cool experiences to share with you all in the next few months! I’ll also be sharing what I used to study for anatomy in undergrad and what I’ll be using to study for it now, so stay tuned for that!

Fall can’t come fast enough!

Andrea.

Leave a Reply

